I love my digital life and technobiophilia has made it even better | experimenting with @medium

medium-logo-150x150I’ve been reading and enjoying Medium for quite a while, and now that they’re experimenting with a new platform for writers to share their stuff I’ve decided to try it out. It’s a really unusual place to write. Find out more here.

So here are the first couple of paragraphs of my first Medium article. If you like the look of them, please click through and read the rest. You’ll find plenty of good stuff there, and each one has a handy little note telling you how long it takes to read. (mine is 5 minutes)

If you don’t find my post especially interesting, do take a look at Medium anyway. If you register you can also interact via their very smooth interface by clicking ‘Recommend’ at the bottom of posts you like and adding your comments anywhere just by clicking into the text. You can see where other people have done this because there’s a very faint number alongside which expands when clicked. It’s clever!

I love my digital life
and technobiophilia has made it even better

I love my digital life and I don’t want to give it up. I’m not interested in a digital detox, an e-sabbatical, or locking my kit in a safe for days at a time like writer Evgeny Morozov. I don’t care who sees my online profile and I don’t believe technology is frying my brain or destroying my social relationships. I’ve been online pretty much every day since 1994 and I have no intention of logging off. However, after eight years of researching Technobiophilia: nature and cyberspace I’ve realised that my digital life is not always compatible with the needs of my body. It’s time to ask myself some hard questions about what I could be doing to make the time I spend online more integrated, healthy, and mindful.

This is something I hadn’t understood in 2004 when I gleefully described my hyper-connected existence in Hello World: travels in virtuality. I had been deeply inspired by the words of Grateful Dead lyricist and internet advocate John Perry Barlow, who wrote of cyberspace in 1996 ‘Ours is a world that is both everywhere and nowhere, but it is not where bodies live’. In the 1990s I was so immersed in that world that sometimes I lost touch with whatever it is we call ‘reality’. I certainly forgot about my own body. It got to the stage where I could easily obtain a status report on my computer, but had only a vague idea of what was going on with my own meaty operating system. Vital signs flagging? Muscles in need of a stretch? Immune system faltering? I was blissfully unaware.

I googled the internet every day but seldom searched inside my own body.

Published 8 October 2013. Read the rest at Medium >>>

One thought on “I love my digital life and technobiophilia has made it even better | experimenting with @medium”

Leave a Reply

