My SF novel ‘Correspondence’ (1992) now available free at Google Books. “Briskly unsentimental and cheerfully subversive” (Interzone)

CorrespondenceIn the past, writers knew that their books would get old and disappear. But not now! Last year I decided to take advantage of Google’s offer to digitise print books and make them available online for free. I sent off three of my titles to their office in Dublin and now they’re all done. The first one ready to share is my first novel, Correspondence, published in 1992 and short-listed for the Arthur C Clarke Award for Best Science Fiction Novel. It feels pretty old-fashioned and a bit embarrassing in places, but I’m still proud of it. I’ve made a page with background info and reviews, or you can just go straight to Google Books and help yourself :) I’d love to know what you think.

Interestingly, the topic of nature and technology which drove the narrative is still found in most of my writings, especially in Hello World: travels in virtuality and in the newest book Technobiophilia: nature and cyberspace.

As a bit of personal background, I started writing Correspondence in 1988 after graduating as a mature student. I was a single parent with two daughters, aged 12 and 9, and I was doing a number of different part-time teaching jobs, so it was pretty hard to find time to write. Much of the book was written at night after the kids had gone to bed.

Oh, and it was written 10+ years before I discovered the internet.

Interzone said it was ‘briskly unsentimental and cheerfully subversive’. Yay!

One thought on “My SF novel ‘Correspondence’ (1992) now available free at Google Books. “Briskly unsentimental and cheerfully subversive” (Interzone)”

  1. Reblogged this on Flow Contemporary Arts and commented:
    not to be missed – this is my first experience of downloading a free book from Google. wouldn’t it be fantastic if they could scan and provide more out of print books for free? I for one mislaid my copy of Correspondence and it is still a key book that predict the future of virtuality and how we relate online. I can’t wait to read it again, after so many years…….

    Like

Leave a Reply

